osama-tidhar

He sat in the dining car and smoked and watched the lights of Paris, like a cloud of scattered moths, disappear in the distance. He had always liked trains. There was a sense of timelessness in the way they moved across a landscape, a comfort in their rhythm and their constant pattern, an order of sound and movement. The train’s whistle sounded and it made Joe smile. The dining compartment was half-empty, and beside the heavy weight of smoke he could smell brewing tea and floor polish, and as the train gathered speed the windows rattled, just a little, and the wheels turned with a soothing constancy and the windows steeemed up and the car was like a cocoon, and he felt no desire to leave it.

Det här är ett citat ur Lavie Tidhars prisbelönta Osama — för att jag älskar tåg, och är extra uppmärksam på tåg i litteraturen nu när jag sysslar med att förbereda Steampunkfestival på Sveriges järnvägsmuseum i Gävle.

Ingen har väl missat att det blir sf-kongress i Stockholm i helgen: Fantastika på Dieselverkstaden i Nacka. Vi ses där hoppas jag.

Här kan du se var jag deltar i programmet. Kom och hör mig intervjua Lavie Tidhar! Med mera.

